Academy of Teaching Excellence

Academy of Teaching Excellence

Executive Committee

Chair Elect
Social Chair
Past Chair
Terry Clements, Landscape Architecture
Anthony ‘Kwame’ Harrison, Sociology
Mark Barrow, History
Sharon Johnson, Foreign Languages and Literatures
Alan Weinstein, Music
Kee Jeong Kim, Human Development
View Leadership History »            

Award Committee Chairs

University Teaching and Learning Awards
Alumni Teaching Award Terry Clements
Landscape Architecture (0190), 231-6683
University Wine Award Mike Ellerbrock
Agricultural and Applied Economics (0401), 231-7722
University Sporn Award Mike Rosenzweig
Biological Sciences (0406), 231-5360
Find out more information on Faculty Awards through the Office of the Provost.

Contacts for College Teaching Awards

College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

Alex Niemiera, 1-6723

College of Architecture and Urban Studies

Sonia Hirt, 1-7509

Pamplin College of Business

Kent Nakamoto, 1-6595

College of Engineering

Carin Roberts-Wollmann, 1-2052

College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences

Tom Ewing, 1-3212

College of Natural Resources and Environment

Eric Wiseman, 1-5148

Stephanie Lang, 1-3484

College of Science

Dana Hawley, 1-8946

Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine

Kevin Pelzer, 1-4618


Founded originally in 1974 to honor and reward excellence in instruction, the Academy of Teaching Excellence membership voted in 1987 to expand its role significantly beyond honorary status. The membership defined the Academy as an organization of faculty committed to the enhancement of the educational environment, the highest standards of instruction, the vigilant pursuit of new forms and technologies of teaching, the continual evaluation of practices and standards of teaching effectiveness, and personal and organizational commitment to the importance of teaching in the research university.
View Constitution »