Academy of Teaching Excellence

Academy of Teaching Excellence

Founded originally in 1974 to honor and reward excellence in instruction, the Academy of Teaching Excellence membership voted in 1987 to expand its role significantly beyond honorary status. The membership defined the Academy as an organization of faculty committed to the enhancement of the educational environment, the highest standards of instruction, the vigilant pursuit of new forms and technologies of teaching, the continual evaluation of practices and standards of teaching effectiveness, and personal and organizational commitment to the importance of teaching in the research university.

2013 - 2014 Award Winners

Sporn Award
Gregory Tew, School of Architecture + Design

Wine Award
Wing Ng, Mechanical Engineering
Don Orth, Fish and Wildlife Conservation
Elizabeth Struthers Malbon, Religion and Culture

Alumni Award
Terry Clements, Landscape Architecture
Dana Hawley, Biological Sciences